My Linocut

08May10

This is a little bit embarrasing coming as a follow up to the work of all those amazing linocut artists I posted earlier, but here is my first foray into the mysterious world known as printmaking!

My brief was to design a 6×4 block incorporating a letter of the alphabet and an illustration to represent that letter. I chose the letter W at random, and chose to depict a web which, in hindsight, probably wasn’t the easiest choice. After much stress and redesigns I settled on this as my final design.

This was then transfered onto a piece of lino and I began the long and arduous process of chiselling it out!  A day later, and I was left with this:

 

Can’t wait to get into the printroom and see how it turns out!

No Responses Yet to “My Linocut”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

