Love hurts…

07Mar10

Paper Cut Illustration

…cos I actually cut myself with a scalpel whilst making this. This was actually made during the first term of uni but I thought I would share it here as it’s nice to keep everything in one place, no?  These are really fun to make, if a little scary at first. The nature of the work means that you can’t draw an outline or anything first, you just have to basically ‘go where the knife dictates’ and trust your instinct because if you make a mistake, well, there’s not much you can do short of starting again! This meant my finished piece didn’t really turn out anything like planned, but hey, it’s all practise…

 Apologies for the awful picture;  it was taken on my phone during class. I actually had it photographed in a studio with proper lighting and background, but unfortunately I didn’t get any copies of those pictures. :/

If you want to see some REAL examples of paper cut illustration, check out the master, Rob Ryan, at  http://www.misterrob.co.uk/ The skill! My mind is officially blown. *_*

No Responses Yet to “Love hurts…”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

